Welcome to The Hall of Fame Scott Rolen

Baseball Hall of Fame Scott Rolen

Scott Rolen played for our Philadelphia Phillies for the better part of six seasons before moving on to the St. Louis Cardinals, Cincinnati Reds, and Toronto Blue Jays.

Throughout his 17-year career, Rolen established himself as one of the best third basemen in the game, earning eight Gold Glove awards and making the All-Star team seven times. 

Despite these accolades, Rolen has yet to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Rolen’s statistics are undoubtedly worth the Hall of Fame. Scott Rolen finished his career with a .281 batting average, 316 home runs, 1,287 RBIs, and an impressive .364 on-base percentage. He also ranks among the top 20 all-time in fielding percentage among third basemen.

However, Rolen’s career was also marked by injuries, which limited his playing time and may have hurt his chances for induction in the past. Additionally, the era in which he played was known for inflated offensive numbers, which may make it easier for voters to compare Rolen’s statistics to those of players from other eras once they considered his WAR numbers.

Despite these factors, Rolen’s case for the Hall of Fame is still a strong one. He was one of his era’s best defensive third basemen, and his offensive numbers compare favorably to many players who have already been inducted. 

Rolen was more than deserving to be voted into the Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Rolen’s career was marked by outstanding defensive play and solid offensive numbers. While his injuries and the era in which he played may have affected his chances for induction, Rolen’s case for the Baseball Hall of Fame is still strong. He has certainly earned a spot among the game’s all-time greats.

The team when entering the Baseball Hall of Fame Scott Rolen will represent is still unknown (many speculate it will be as a Cardinal,) but he enters along side Philadelphia Phillies, including:

  • Mike Schmidt (inducted 1995)
  • Steve Carlton (1994)
  • Richie Ashburn (1995)
  • Robin Roberts (1976)
  • Jim Bunning (1996)
  • Harry Kalas (2002)
  • Dallas Green (2017)
  • Ed Delahanty (1945)
  • Chuck Klein (1980)
  • Tony Taylor (2019)

Welcome to The National Baseball Hall of Fame Scott Rolen Class 2023, Scott — it is well deserved. Congratulations.

Get Ready For The Phillies 2023 Season

Similar Posts